On est bien content de croiser à nouveau Destroyer qui annonce la mise à l’eau de son prochain album, Ken le 20 octobre chez Merge.

Un premier titre, Sky’s Grey est en écoute qui n’augure pas d’un disque en demi teinte. Romain Gary écrivait dans Les Cerfs-volants, « le blanc et le noir il y en a marre, le gris il n’y a que ça d’humain. » Dan Bejar semble être d’accord et explique la signification du titre de son douzième disque en 20 ans, Ken :

« Sometime last year, I discovered that the original name for The Wild Ones (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was Ken. I had an epiphany, I was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, I decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for my own purposes. It’s unclear to me what that purpose is, or what the connection is. I was not thinking about Suede when making this record. I was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe “The Wild Ones” speaks to that feeling, probably why Suede made no sense in America. I think Ken also means ‘to know’.”

Destroyer – Sky’s Grey (Lyric Video)

Destroyer - Ken


Destroyer - Ken
  1. Sky’s Grey
  2. In the Morning
  3. Tinseltown Swimming in Blood
  4. Cover From the Sun
  5. Saw You at the Hospital
  6. A Light Travels Down the Catwalk
  7. Rome
  8. Sometimes In the World
  9. Ivory Coast
  10. Stay Lost
  11. La Règle du Jeu

+ d'articles et photos :